Book Review: Creed’s Honor

Creed’s Honor by Linda Lael Miller. (website)

I devoured A Creed in Stone Creek, so when I saw that there was another Creed book being released, I couldn’t resist. This novel follows Steven Creed’s cousin, Conner, in the town of Lonesome Bend, Colorado. He’s stayed close to home, working the ranch for his uncle and being the dependable one, unlike his twin. He thought he had just about everything he needed, until he met Tricia McCall.

Tricia was trying to sell her family’s land, a dilapidated old drive-inn movie theatre and a lodge, with little success. All she wanted was to sell up and go back to the city. But fate has a way of changing things… especially once she re-introduces herself to Conner Creed.

Overall I found the book good, but it started a bit slow. I had to urge myself to continue, knowing that it would get better. Something about A Creed in Stone Creek snagged me straight away, but Creed’s Honor took a chapter or two. However, patience paid off. Other readers might not have that same problem – sometimes I’m just not in the mood for certain types of books.

My interest lay not only in seeing if Tricia and Conner would make it, but also whether Conner and his twin brother Brody would put aside their differences. (In the earlier book, the two had a dust-up, and there had been bad blood for years.) This subplot has kept my attention throughout both books, but especially in Creed’s Honor. I can hardly wait for the third book, The Creed Legacy, to find out more about Brody.

I’d highly recommend this book to all readers of Linda Lael Miller’s. I’ve never picked up a book of hers that I haven’t enjoyed, and that’s saying a lot. (I can’t think of any other author, at least not at the moment, where I could make that same statement.) Go and pick it up! (and while you’re there, pick up A Creed in Stone Creek too!)

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review: Creed’s Honor

  1. I like Miller’s books, too–both the historicals and the contemporaries. I like to get them on audio. Haven’t read the Creeds, I’ve been working on…oh, hell, the other ones right now…
    Anyway, thanks for the recc…will look for Stone Creek, for sure!

    • My favourite of hers is the McQuade series (Yankee Bride, Taming Charlotte, and especially Princess Annie). I’ve also read her vampire novels, but aside from these two Creed books, I haven’t read any of her western ones.

  2. Ben Wiebe says:

    The cover art is an example of a pet peeve of mine: the author’s name being in significantly larger type than the title of the book.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Creed Legacy | Musings of a Writer and Unabashed Francophile, by Alyssa Linn Palmer

Leave a Reply

