Book Review: The Restorer

The Restorer, by Amanda Stevens.  (twitter)
First in the Graveyard Queen Series.

This is another book I read cover to cover in one day. Except that I forgot how creeped out I could get about ghosts and supernatural stuff! Even though I was spooked, I still read it late into the night. I picked this book up because the blurb reminded me a little bit of reading Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger. However, The Restorer is creepier by far.

Amelia Gray is a cemetery restorer in Charleston. And she can see ghosts. She meets John Devlin, a cop who has some ghosts of his own. Her father told her never to get involved with someone haunted, but with Devlin, they seem destined to continue to meet. A body is discovered in the cemetery where Amelia is working and Devlin wants her to help him with the investigation.One body turns into two, and the cemetery has secrets to reveal.

This novel gripped me from start to finish and its twists kept me guessing. I’m not especially easy to fool, but the cast of characters was such that I couldn’t quite pick out the perpetrators. As if the mystery wasn’t enough, the ghosts and their intentions (and not just Devlin’s) had me biting my nails and starting at shadows.

If you like mystery, a bit of paranormal in a contemporary setting, and are intrigued by graveyards and the dead, I’d highly recommend this book. As for me, I’ll count down the days until the second book of the series is released!

(Now available in paperback, and ebook on May 1.)

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Restorer

  1. Teri Anne Stanley says:

    Wow! It certainly sounds better than the Flaunting Cactus.

Leave a Reply

