Book Review: David Bowie – Starman

David Bowie: Starman, by Paul Trynka. (website)

I haven’t read any biographies of David Bowie in recent years, maybe because a lot of what I picked up in the early 90s could easily be classified as utter rubbish. Over-dramatic tellings of Bowie’s half-brother Terry’s mental illness, or the most dreadful example: Angela Bowie’s supposed memoir, which purported to tell the reader all about how she found Bowie and Jagger in bed together… if only you’d read till the end of the book. (By the way, don’t bother, it was quite the anti-climax.)

Even from the first chapters of Starman, I could tell the book would be of high quality, but I should note that while I am still a huge fan of Bowie, I’m less interested in what his background is and more interested in what material he’s putting out, whether it be music, art, or film. All I hoped when starting this book was to not be bored.

Paul Trynka has some good credits to his name: author of an Iggy Pop bio in 2008 and formerly the editor of MOJO magazine, to name but a few. At least a guy from the music biz would have a different outlook than other, non-music writers.

Now, about the book.

There’s more than enough detail to satisfy everyone, from the casual fan to the most dedicated, even me. (Though if you’re reading to find out what Bowie has for breakfast, keep looking.) Even as someone who has read a lot on Bowie, I enjoyed this book and found it informative. It’s exactly the sort of book that I would recommend to a new fan who wants to know (almost) everything.

There are quite a few biographies of David Bowie floating around, even recently, when the man himself hasn’t been as much of a force on the music scene. (Dear David, I would love if you’d put out some new material. Anything, even just an EP.) While I don’t know how complete some of the other recent material is, I’m especially impressed with Trynka’s extensive notes and acknowledgments. Notes for each chapter are informal (no footnotes here) but cover all the sources used, especially highlighting the main interviewees for each section. Far more readable than standard academic notes (and I’ve read a lot of those in my time.) I only wish that the book was available in eBook format so that I could stick it onto my Kindle and carry it around for easy reference.

Before I finish off, I must tell you that Trynka ends with the Fashion Rocks event, and in reading about it, I remembered that I hadn’t watched that performance in some time. So, I just had to find it on YouTube to share:

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: David Bowie – Starman

  1. Hi Alyssa–
    I actually did not know that there was a biography of David Bowie, so i will try to pick this up.
    And yes, everyone and their grandmother has heard about the rumor? fact? that Bowie and Jagger were in bed together. If so, so what? I also know that there are many New York publishers that are now trying to recruit Bowie to write an “official” autobiography, similar to Keith Richards’ “Life” book.
    I enjoyed the cat photos…the two fighting over their bed space..kind of like Bowie and Jagger? HA
    I have a website on WordPress that you might like: http://www.glamrockstar.wordpress.com
    Cheers! Steph

    • Thanks for the link; I’ll definitely check out your site!

      I’d love to read an official bio from Bowie, though I doubt he’d want to bother with it. More than that, I’d love to have him put out a new album. It’s been so long since Reality (2004!) …

Leave a Reply

