Oh all right, I confess.

Yes, I am a Francophile… obviously. However, I forgot to mention something.

I’m also an Anglophile. In fact, I have it BAD.
Fortunately, I’ve never had to choose sides in a time of war.

Give me Taylors of Harrogate Yorkshire tea, an eccles cake, and an episode of Doctor Who, and I’m the happiest girl in the world. (If Doctor Who isn’t airing, then I’ll take several episodes of the property show ‘Location, Location, Location’ as a consolation prize.)

I also love yorkshire puddings, sponge cake with custard, bacon sarnies, Scottish shortbread… the list is nearly endless. It isn’t all about food, though I could certainly go on for ages.

There’s music (David Bowie, PJ Harvey, the Pet Shop Boys)… literature (Shakespeare, Hardy, Lord Byron, Shelley, Mary Shelley, Douglas Adams, Elizabeth Gaskell, the Bronte family)… and many films and television series that continue to impress me. (And, Hello to Jason Isaacs!)

It’s far easier to find British things here: films don’t have to be subtitled, recipes are easy to read, as are books. My French isn’t good enough to be able to comprehend all those things without translation, though I have stumbled through a few things with the aid of my dictionary.

So, I’ll take a cup of tea with that pain au chocolat, please et merci. 🙂

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Oh all right, I confess.

  1. I have always loved the simpleness of British – yorkshire pudding, shortbread, mac and cheese.
    What will I do now that I’ve declared myself gluten intolerant?
    Ah well, there will always be tea, with milk!

  2. Ken Houghton says:

    Jason Isaacs of Capital City fame? Good choice, though I always preferred William Armstrong, but Isaac was probably better eye candy.

    What’s he doing these days?

    • The very same!
      He did a six-parter mini series of Kate Atkinson’s ‘Case Histories’ recently, playing Jackson Brodie, and of course he was the devious Lucius Malfoy in Harry Potter.
      And he’s in a film with Taylor Lautner, though I haven’t seen it or really paid much attention to that. 🙂

  3. Abby says:

    Taylor Lautner?? Surely Jason can do better than that….

Leave a Reply

