The Unabashed Francophile Post, Part 12: My Trip to Paris (4)

Screenshot from Largo Winch

After three busy days I spent the fourth resting. I caught up on some reading (the novel ‘The Outsider’ by Camus) and watched episodes of the television series Largo Winch on M6. In 2003, the second series of the show was just going to air, and I’d already become a fan through seeing the first series on Canadian TV. It was a change seeing the program dubbed into French. (And also strange, as the BD – bande dessinées – was originally published in French in Europe, and is quite popular, yet the TV series was filmed mostly in Canada and in English.)

(taken from Wikipedia)

The fifth day, I went to La Défense, a large business district. My mother and I met my father for lunch and sat on the steps of the Grande Arche.

Part of what I find fascinating about Paris is that the Grande Arche is in line with the Arc de Triomphe, the Champs Élysées, the Place de la Concorde (with its Egyptian obelisk), and the Louvre in what is called the ‘Axe historique‘. How incredible is it that the layout of the city was partly planned around monuments? (If only they did that here…)

After lunch, I met up with another fan of the show Largo Winch, who went by the online handle of ‘Eska’. She had been to the set when the show had filmed in France, and she had lots of goodies to share. It was great to spend some time with another fan. Afterwards I took the RER back to the Charles-de-Gaulle/Etoile station (located under the Arc de Triomphe) and came back to the apartment.

For dinner, we headed to a world-famous jazz club, Le Bilboquet. I’ve already written about my experiences at Le Bilboquet, but I will say that it was my favourite night out. The wait staff were incredibly friendly, the food was excellent, and of course the music was top-notch. I wish I’d been able to spend more time there, but it wasn’t a cheap night out. I note in my journal that our meal was over €300. I had espadon (which I didn’t realize was another word for swordfish – I feel slightly embarrassed that I didn’t know) with potato, my mother had the Chateaubriand, and my father had duck. (I’ve since become quite fond of eating duck,  but at that point it seemed strange.) We stayed till past midnight listening to the music and sitting on the terrace outside, enjoying the warm night.

This entry was posted in The Unabashed Francophile. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Unabashed Francophile Post, Part 12: My Trip to Paris (4)

  1. Pingback: The Unabashed Francophile Post, Part 14: My Trip to Paris (5) | Musings of a Writer and Unabashed Francophile, by Alyssa Linn Palmer

Leave a Reply

