Music: Anna Calvi, one of my favourite new artists

Prior to the shortlist of this year’s Mercury prize, I’d never heard of Anna Calvi. I downloaded her self-titled album and put it on while I was writing… and I had to stop writing and listen. Her voice reminds me a bit of PJ Harvey, and there’s something about how the songs slide into one another; you’re never quite sure where one ended and the next began.

It isn’t a long record; 10 songs and 40 minutes. At the moment it’s close to becoming the theme music for my work-in-progress, THE ORPHEUS.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music: Anna Calvi, one of my favourite new artists

  1. I’ve never heard her before but she has a great post. Thanks for introducing her to us.

Leave a Reply

